Why Serve?

Engaging in an intentional lifestyle of service to others is one of the core commitments in taking steps to know and become like Jesus. Serve is not simply a single action step or a “spot to fill” but rather a desire to help others at a heart level to actually become a servant. We believe that by becoming a servant we will change the way we live our lives. 

 

Serve Groups Opportunities

 

Sunday Morning Serve Team

Tour Date: Sunday, March 4, 8:30 or 10am. Meet at the Next Steps Center.

Contact: Travis Bourbon at travis.bourbon@lscckc.org

Every Sunday we are able to host an incredible opportunity for people to come and worship at LSCC. From the moment someone drives into our parking lot; we plan with intentionality an experience that is warm, inviting and welcoming for all people, from first time guests to long time members, who come to worship. We are continuing to build an existing team of dedicated volunteers who desire to serve worshippers on Sunday mornings. We provide all the training you need!

Opportunities exist for parking lot crew, curbside/front door guest greeters, auditorium hosts (ushers) and more. ese serve opportunities are on a rotating basis from every other Sunday to once a month.

 

Front Desk Receptionist

Contact: Jewell Glauner, jewell.glauner@lscckc.org

Serve as a front desk volunteer in our church office during the week (M-Th). 4 hour shifts available to greet guests and answer phones. (Occasional help on ministry projects)

 

Cookie Ambassador

Contact: Michele Walden, michele.walden@lscckc.org

In an effort to help first time guests feel welcome at LSCC we like to have fresh baked cookies delivered to their home the week following their visit. We are looking for volunteers to bake and deliver cookies in the Lee’s Summit, Greenwood, Raymore, Blue Springs, and/or Raytown areas. Volunteers can sign up to deliver one week a month at a time convenient for them. Let us know the area you prefer. 

 

LSCC Kids* (birth – 6th grade)

Tour Date: Sunday, February 18, 9:15am. Meet at the Next Steps Center

Contact: Alan Clark, alan.clark@lscckc.org or Michelle Browning, michelle.browning@lscckc.org

LSCC Kids is committed to helping families follow Jesus. Every Sunday, LSCC Kids provides opportunities for children ages newborn through 6th grade to participate in age-appropriate services and small groups led by a team of caring volunteers committed to seeing children know and become like Jesus. Opportunities to serve range from helping families check-in for service, leading a small group, or teaching large group bible stories.

 

LSCC Students*(grades 7-12)

Tour Date: Sunday, Feb. 11, 6pm. Meet at Next Steps Center

Contact: Jeremy Lanning, jeremy.lanning@lscckc.org

LSCC Students exists to help students take steps to know and become like Jesus. Each Sunday Night, LSCC Students gather for a time of worship, teaching and small groups. Our goal in this time is to provide an atmosphere for students to grow deeper in their faith. We have opportunities including small group leaders, meals, camp and more.

Chili Bowl. If you would like to serve at Chili Bowl, our annual flag football tournament on Monday, Feb. 19. We are looking for help with providing crock pots of chili, parking lot attendants, welcome desk and more. Visit the Chili Bowl webpage for more information.

 

Small Group Leader

Tour Dates: Tuesday, Feb. 6 or Sunday, Feb. 11. Contact Patrick to set up time.

Contact: Patrick Hukriede, patrick.hukriede@lscckc.org

At LSCC, we value community and believe it happens best through small groups. A small group leader facilitates community for a group of 6-12 people. We are not looking for perfect people, rather we looking for people who want to grow in their faith and encourage others. If you are interested in leading a speci c topic or you desire to start your own small group, let’s talk. 

 

Small Group Project Team

Tour Dates: Tuesday, Feb. 6 or Sunday, Feb. 11. Contact Patrick to set up time.

Contact: Patrick Hukriede, patrick.hukriede@lscckc.org

Do you have organized closets and cupboards at home? Well, then you may be able to help us. We are looking for individuals who like to gather, sort and organize information. We communicate and care for small groups through managing database. Projects will be started by volunteering at church, but there could be the possibility of doing projects at home. 

 

Devotional Team

Tour Dates: Tuesday, Feb. 6 or Sunday, Feb. 11. Contact Patrick to set up time.

Contact: Patrick Hukriede, patrick.hukriede@lscckc.org

We write a daily devotional that coincides with the Sunday messages. These devotionals are designed to help people practice and apply the truths and principles they heard on Sunday. If you enjoy writing or editing, this could be a meaningful way to serve.

 

Medical/Safety

Tour Date: Sunday, March 4, 8:30am, Cafe

Contact: Jim C, jimc2325@gmail.com

LSCC Medical Team*. Medical professionals to help provide first aid under the Good Samaritan Law.

LSCC Kids Safety Team*. Greet parents and their children while making sure that only approved individuals enter the LSCC Kids areas.

 

LSCC Café

Tour Date: Sunday, March 4, 8:30am, meet in the Café.

Contact: Vickie Crosby, vickie.crosby@lscckc.org

If you are a barista, enjoy serving food and making coffee, and have a gift of hospitality, you may like serving in our cafe. We have opportunities to help with Sunday morning set-up, making coffee as a barista or running the cash register. 

 

LSCC Care Teams

Contact: Jack Anderson, jack.anderson@lscckc.org

Meals Team. This team has been a great help to many in our LSCC family. They provide meals for families during an illness or crisis. They’ll also provide food for a funeral meal when needed.

Prayer Partners. Like strong families, strong church families pray for each other. Please consider joining our team of prayer partners. You’ll receive regular emails with updates on the needs presented to us by our church family.

Home Helpers. Do you enjoy helping others in practical ways? At times our single mothers, widows, elderly, sick, disabled or those in a financial crisis need help with daily needs. i.e. House work, yard care, light maintenance, running of errands, small home repairs.

 

LSCC Worship Arts

Tour Date: "Play Skillfully" with Jim Doney, Saturday, Feb. 17, 9-11am

Contact: James Coe, james.coe@lscckc.org. www.lscckc.org/worship

LSCC Worship Choir. We are looking for people who have a passion for worship and love to sing. The LSCC Worship Choir meets every other Wednesday through Easter. No audition or previous choir experience is needed; everyone is welcome! Join us Wednesday, March 1, 6:00pm, East Auditorium if interested. 

 

Sound/Technical Arts

Contact: Alex Smith, alex.smith@lscckc.org

Positions include: camera operators, graphics switching, audio and lighting. No experience needed. Training provided. 

 

Visual Arts

Tour Date: Thursday, Feb. 8, 4:30pm, meet at the Next Steps Center.

Contact: Rollie Skinner, rollie.skinner@lscckc.org

If you like graphic design, photography or videography, and have some experience, you may enjoy contributing your talents to the creation of visual content for LSCC. 

 

Small Group Finals_50.jpg

ESL - English as a second language

Contact: Yvonne Janicke, yjanicke@gmail.com

 Volunteers: Meeting on Thursdays and Saturdays from 8:30-10:00am. LSCC Café. We help Internationals learn/improve their English speaking and reading comprehension. To serve, one only needs a desire to help, not a degree in English. Volunteers can serve on either Thursday or Saturday. To learn more about this serve opportunity or if you know of someone who would like to work on their English, contact Yvonne.